Last Night I Dreamt of Michigan

DSC_0219Last night I dreamt of Michigan.  I dreamt of clear water and blue skies.  Of bare skin and pink noses.  Of bonfires and circles of beach chairs on the dock.

Last night I dreamt of Michigan.  I dreamt of children laughing in the field and wet dogs shaking dry.  Of walks through the woods and “kid only” zones.  Of bourbon and beer and dinner at the picnic table.

Last night I dreamt of Michigan.  I dreamt of turtle doves and barn owls and turkeys in the front yard.  Of movies in the tent and sunsets off the bluff.  Of coffee on the dew covered porch and games in front of the fire.

DSC_0311Last night I dreamt of Michigan.  I dreamt of the smells, and the sig
hts, and the sounds of the lake and the barn and field.  Of trips down the river and rides to Dairy Queen.  Of blueberry picking and bike rides.

Last night of dreamt of family and friends and love.  Of peace and tranquility and laughter. Of hours and hours for play and games.  Of time to catch up and forget that it’s been a whole year.  Of sharing a connection that only we have, a language that is only for us, that no one else can understand.

DSC_0096Four months away.  I’m counting the days.

Leave a Reply

